Reckless Driving / Speeding

Reckless Driving.

A number of reckless driving charges exist in Virginia. Reckless driving can be reckless by speed, or driving in a careless and reckless manner. Reckless driving can also be not signalling when changing lanes.

The most common reckless charge is reckless by speed. An officer can charge reckless any time a driver exceeds the posted speed limit by 20 miles per hour. Reckless can also result when a person drives over 80 mph regardless of the posted speed.

Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor criminal offense. Clients are often shocked to learn they could go to jail for up to 12-months for reckless driving.

Judges hear every excuse, from "I was driving with the flow of the traffic" to "the officer must have clocked the wrong person" to "the officer is lying." Such excuses do not work in reckless cases.

A reckless driving conviction can result in many collateral consequences from suspension of one's license or privileges to drive in the Commonwealth, to loss of a security clearance or job loss. Reckless driving charges must be taken seriously. They are not pre-payable. If charged with reckless driving one must appear in court unless an attorney says otherwise.    

Contact Attorney Wegman so he can assess your reckless driving case. He has a proven track record of success resulting in a lot of repeat clients. Clients return because Attorney Wegman gives them honest answers and positive solutions to their reckless driving cases.

If charged with reckless driving, you should call Attorney Wegman today at 757.482.5205 to discuss the particulars of your reckless driving case.

Speeding

Speeding.

Speeding tickets rather than reckless driving tickets are given whenever one drives fewer than 20 miles above the posted speed. If a person drives from between 1 mph to 19 mph above the speed limit, he/she can be given a summons for speeding though candidly Attorney Wegman sees very few speeding tickets for speeding fewer than 9 over. If, however, the speed limit sign reads "strictly enforced," one has to pay close attention or he may be charged with speeding.

A speeding ticket is either a 3 or 4 demerit violation. The best driving records in Virginia are +5. A speeding ticket subtracts either 3 or 4 points from whatever points one already has. 0-9 speeding offenses = 3 demerits and 10-19  speeding violations = 4 demerit speeding violations.

Attorney Wegman represents a lot of folks passing through. North Carolina drivers must be aware that even though not considered reckless driving in Virginia, speeding 15 mph or more is considered reckless driving in North Carolina. In short, even though one's license would not be suspended by a Virginia court, it would be suspended for up to 30 days once North Carolina is notified.

Speeding tickets can also result in collateral consequences from an increase in insurance premiums and, depending on the number of demerits in a given year, a suspension imposed by DMV or a requirement to attend driver improvement classes.

DO NOT underestimate a speeding ticket.

Contact Attorney Wegman so he can assess your speeding case. He has a proven track record of success and gets a lot of repeat clients. Clients come back because Attorney Wegman gives them honest answers and positive solutions to their speeding case.

If charged with speeding, you should call Attorney Wegman today at 757.482.5205 to discuss the particulars of your case. 

Where to Find Us

Wegman Law
392 S Battlefield Blvd #202,
Chesapeake, VA 23322

Phone: (757) 482-5205

How to Contact Us